BACK

How to #DeleteFacebook (but keep your data)

How to #DeleteFacebook (but keep your data)With the sheer amount of data Facebook and associated entities possess about users, it’s no wonder loads of people want to break free. If you’ve been on the social network for longer than about 5 minutes, though, your account has probably amassed some friends, files, and memories you’d like …

  • 04 Feb 2019
3 min read
How to #DeleteFacebook (but keep your data)
With the sheer amount of data Facebook and associated entities possess about users, it’s no wonder loads of people want to break free. If you’ve been on the social network for longer than about 5 minutes, though, your account has probably amassed some friends, files, and memories you’d like to save. How to deactivate your Facebook account Let’s just get this out of the way: Facebook doesn’t want you to go. Your account won’t lapse if you ignore it, and if you need some help staying away, you can deactivate it without actually leaving. Facebook changes the location of its settings from time to time, but at the time of this writing, you can deactivate your account under Settings → Your Facebook Information. Choose Delete Your Account and Information and then Deactivate Account. Follow the prompts to confirm. Deactivating is like turning off the lights — people won’t see your name or photos, for the most part, and you can’t use your inactive account. You can turn those lights back on automatically, simply by logging back in. Your settings and friends and messages and everything else will be there when you come back. Still determined to delete your Facebook account? We can’t blame you. But if you’re not careful and thorough, then Facebook, like a reluctant ex, won’t give you back your stuff. Take it with you when you leave by downloading your pictures, messages, and so forth. How to delete your Facebook account from the Web interface Open Settings → Your Facebook Information. Choose the second option: Download Info. Select a date range (the default is All of my data), the HTML format for universal access, and a file quality — if you’ve been using Facebook to store your photos, you might want to choose High instead of the default Medium for Media Quality. Check or uncheck the boxes for types of data to back up — everything from the obvious posts and media files to the apps and websites you log in to with your Facebook credentials, “Other Activity” such as Pokes, and Marketplace activity. It’s all clearly defined, and you won’t go wrong backing up something you don’t necessarily use or understand. Click Create File. It’ll take some time, and Facebook will let you know by e-mail when the file is ready for you to download. That’s it: You’ve backed up your Facebook history and can go ahead and delete your account. Go back to the Permanently Delete Account page and choose Delete Account. How to delete your Facebook account from a mobile interface If you use an iOS or Android app to access Facebook, you’ll need to do more than just delete the app. Sure, deleting it triggers a warning about app data being deleted, but that’s app data, not all of your data. Again, apps and their settings change, but probably not radically. In the current versions of iOS and Android apps it goes like this: Tap the Settings icon (three horizontal bars) at
Source: Kaspersky Lab official blogPublished on 2019-02-04
Blog Details
  • 04 Feb 2019

Newest Articles.

View all
  • 15 Apr 19

    Cyber Security Compliance: Protecting your Business from Online Threats

    Read Article logo
  • 03 Apr 19

    What is Social Engineering?

    Read Article logo

Get a Quote

Click below and we’ll send you a quote as soon as possible.

quote-form-pattern
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Us

Click below and we’ll send you a quote as soon as possible.

quote-form-pattern
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Step 1 of 4 - Let’s get started

25%
  • Thanks for your interest in working with us. Please complete the details below and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.
Close ×
price-popup-pattern
Close ×
price-popup-pattern
Close ×

Step 1 of 3

33%
  • Cyber Essentials Basic Pass Guarantee - £750

    Your Details

price-popup-pattern
Close ×

Step 1 of 3

33%
  • Cyber Essentials Basic Pay Monthly - £79 pcm

    Your Details

price-popup-pattern
Close ×

Step 1 of 2

50%
  • Cyber Essentials Plus - Get a Quote

    Your Details

price-popup-pattern
Close ×

Get In Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
price-popup-pattern
Close ×

Get A Quote

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
price-popup-pattern
Close ×
price-popup-pattern

Buy Cyber Essentials

price-popup-pattern